Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo

Program

22 Jun 2020 18:00

DOCU-MONDAYS ONLINE: The Gospel According to Brabenec

Journalist Renata Kalenská’s book of interviews with Vratislav Brabenec, prominent member of the Plastic People group, recorded not only his memories of the underground years, but also the author’s experiences with this highly distinctive individual.

Monday 22 June, 6 pm BST / 7 pm CET
Screening via provided link:
https://dafilms.com/film/9717-the-gospel-according-to-brabenec
(The movie will be available for free from 6 am BST / 7 am CET on Monday 22th of June till 11 am BST / 12 pm CET  on Tuesday 23th of June)

Please use the following link to access live Zoom Q&A with director Miroslav Janek on Monday 22 June at 7.30 pm BST / 8. 30 CET:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84806453362?pwd=aHRFYU1VKzF6a3BoTEtwd21kOStUQT09
Meeting ID: 848 0645 3362
Password: 6aN1Zf

The film represents a cinematic sequel to the book, and looks to build on those experiences as it captures additional interviews with Brabenec, mainly improvised talks at places that hold some meaning for Brabenec or Kalenská. The result is several scenes of irrelevant philosophising, self-deprecating humour, and commentary on the life of birds, and on nature in general. The conversations, recorded mostly by hand-held camera, are interspersed with poetic citations.

‘Do you ever feel happy?’ ‘I don’t like the word happy at all. I equate happy with stupid.’ ‘I’m unhappy with you. So I guess I’m un-stupid.’

Miroslav Janek, Czech Republic, 2014, 87´, English subtitles

This event is part of the DOCU-MONDAYS online film series organised by the Czech Centres.




 


















 

 

 

Venue:
online
Date

22 Jun 2020 18:00

Organizer:


Remind me
This event has already started.