Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


19 Jan 2004 00:00 - 00:00

Dvorak - Janacek Series

In celebration of Czech music – it is the 100th anniversary of Dvořák death and the 150th anniversary of Janáček’s birth - the Philharmonia Orchestra begins 2004 with Part 1 of a Series led by the Czech conductor Jiří Bělohlávek featuring the music of both composers.

‘Anyone lucky enough to hear Bělohlávek’s impassioned conducting of Jenufa at Glyndebourne will know the sureness of his grasp of Janáček’s dramatic architecture. He made sure each gesture painted this portrait of rural poverty in ever-finer details, and brought the Sinfonietta steadily and compellingly to its star-spangled conclusion.’ The Guardian, March 2001


Jiří Bělohlávek conductor

Zoltán Kocsis piano


Janáček           Sinfonietta

Mozart             Piano Concerto No. 23, K488

Dvořák             Symphony No. 9, From the New World


Tickets priced at £35, £27, £20, £16, £12 and £6 are available from:

Philharmonia Orchestra Box Office: 0800 652 6717 (no booking fee) www.philharmonia.co.uk

Royal Festival Hall Box Office: 020 7960 4242 (£1.50 booking fee) www.rfh.org.uk



30 Kensington Palace Gardens
W8 4QY London
United Kingdom


19 Jan 2004 00:00 - 00:00


Philharmonia Orchestra

Remind me
This event has already started.