Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


29 Jan 2004 00:00 - 00:00

Dvorak - Janacek Series

In celebration of Czech music – it is the 100th anniversary of Dvořák death and the 150th anniversary of Janáček’s birth - the Philharmonia Orchestra begins 2004 with Part 1 of a Series led by the Czech conductor Jiří Bělohlávek featuring the music of both composers.

After two performances in Switzerland, Bělohlávek, Midori and the Orchestra return to the UK on Wednesday 28 January for a performance at the Corn Exchange in Bedford which is repeated at the Royal Festival Hall on Thursday 29 January. In the second half of these concerts the Orchestra performs Dvořák’s tragic Symphony No. 7 similarly influenced by the work of Brahms, in this case his third symphony.

Jiří Bělohlávek conductor

Midori violin


Smetana            Overture, The Bartered Bride

Dvořák             Violin Concerto

Dvořák             Symphony No. 7


Tickets priced at £35, £27, £20, £16, £12 and £6 are available from:

Philharmonia Orchestra Box Office: 0800 652 6717 (no booking fee) www.philharmonia.co.uk

Royal Festival Hall Box Office: 020 7960 4242 (£1.50 booking fee) www.rfh.org.uk



30 Kensington Palace Gardens
W8 4QY London
United Kingdom


29 Jan 2004 00:00 - 00:00


Philharmonia Orchestra

Remind me
This event has already started.